Posted by: stevenpalomino | June 30, 2009

Why Japan?

Many of you know that I’ve started to learn Japanese. With this new decision has come the same question in many forms: “Why Japanese?”, to which I always responded, “Why not?”. I’ve decided to elaborate more on this decision and maybe inspire someone else.

It all started a few weeks ago with a movie called, “The Last Samurai”. Although this is a great movie, it wasn’t that I wanted to learn how to sword fight or wear a long dress or put my hair (..ha..) up in a bun. I grew up in Asuncion, Paraguay with Japanese, Chinese, and Korean friends. My school was almost 2/3 Asian. I always had the desire growing up to learn how to speak one of those languages and move to a different country. I’m not sure what the Lord has planned for me but I do know that I feel a special burden for the country of Japan. I recently learned that only 1% of Japanese people are Christian. There are about 127 million people living in Japan. That means only around 1.2 million are Christian. This is still a large amount of people. In fact, I’m not even sure I can count to 1 million without going insane. But when you think of the 1% side of this whole equation, it changes things a bit.
To top it all off abortion and suicide numbers are sky high! Depression rules the Japanese. I think we get too busy trying to fix our own churches that we forget that there is still a world outside the church walls. That they need Jesus just as much as we do. Who is going to answer the call of millions of people longing for something more? Who will be sent? I’m not saying everyone is called to it because that would be untrue. The Lord raises up some people for local teaching and some for international evangelism. Let us pray though, that God will raise up people to shine His light in these dark places. I’m praying and hoping I will be one of those sent, but I’m not going to move until I hear Him say so.

Pray for messengers as well as those who send them off and pray for them. That the Word of the Lord may run swiftly and be glorified.We must remember that the Lord desires all to be saved and to come to the knowledge of God.

Japan

Responses

  1. Awesome Blog my man! I feel the same burden to learn Hebrew and be a missionary to Israel one day!

  2. Best of luck with your Japanese study.

  3. I was actually just wondering the same “why Japan” reason after seeing your Twitter update…and, what do you know, the Lord provided the answer through your blog. I have the same desire…but for Haiti. I so long to be with those people and to be able to minister there. Thanks for reminding me that I shouldn’t make any moves on my own but to wait for God’s timing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

